Baking · Biscuits and Cookies · Food · Snacks · Uncategorized

Cookie fun- Chocolate Bean Cookies

Chocolate Bean Cookies by Chinskitchen

On Saturday I took my son with me to the cake and bake show and his best part was to decorate a cookie and eat it of course. We went round a few stalls and made a few purchases one of my favourites was the Billington’s hut where I got to taste different types of sugars and what I liked was their boxes indicated what type of bakes or deserts the sugars would work well with. When we returned home after a long tiring day my son says to me mummy lets bake cookies we bought sugar and we have M&M’s. Despite my eyes shutting I didn’t want to let him down especially when I have encouraged him to engage in cooking and baking. My main reason to engage him in these activities is to use it as part of this therapy- sensory input, fine motor skills, understanding skills, following instructions, decision-making, numeracy, literacy and all aspects of physical and cognitive development. It’s  only within the last year or so that he has really got involved and takes interest in baking or helping me as my little assistant, he likes to crack eggs and I must say he has mastered the technique so you get no eggshells in the bowl, use the mixer and lick the bowl.

These cookies are his favourite and he feels so proud when he eats them as he says ” I made these mummy and they are delicious ” Through baking and helping me with preparation he has started to show his basic level of understanding and be expressive.
In this recipe I have added peanut butter which gives these cookies a slight nutty taste, they are light and crisp when bitten into with chunks of chocolate. You can as your own variation if you need and instead of M&M’s you can use smarties/ chocolate chips/ raisins etc. Nothing quite beats homemade cookies.

Makes approx 24 cookies

Ingredients:

1 large egg
250g Plain flour-sifted
160g Butter at room temperature
200g light muscavado sugar ( I used Billington’s)
60g Caster Sugar
2 Tsp baking powder
1 Tsp milk
1.5 Tbsp peanut butter (I used crunchy)
1 bag (185g) Chocolate M&M’s ( freeze the chocolates for atleast 30 mins to ensure the colours don’t run during baking process)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 degree C or 160 for fan.
2. Cream butter and sugar till light and creamy, add peanut butter and mix to incorporate.
3. Add the egg and mix to a smooth consistency.
4. Add flour and milk and mix.
5. Fold in the M&M’S.
6. Using a small spoon scoop mixture and place on baking tray, make sure you leave enough space between each scoop to allow cookie to spread during baking. You may have to help your child with this step.
7. Place in the oven and bake for 10-12 mins until golden brown. Once baked, leave on the baking tray for a minute, cookies will still be soft but gently lift using a fish slice and transfer onto wire rack to cool.

IMG_1839

IMG_1840

IMG_1842

IMG_1846

IMG_1847

IMG_1851

Chocolate Bean Cookies

Hope you have great fun making these cookies and even better enjoying them with a glass of milk, cup of tea/coffee or even ice cream.

Happy Baking xxx

Leave a Reply

