Baking · Cakes · Chocolate · Desserts · Indian/Asian Cuisine · Uncategorized

Ginger Spiced Beetroot and Chocolate Cake served with Cardamom Cream

Beetroot Cake
Ginger Spiced Beetroot and Chocolate Cake by Chinskitchen

My youngest who is 5 months old had a play date yesterday with her ” cot neighbour” when she was in ITU. I was so excited for them to meet after such a while, I couldn’t wait to see the expression on their faces and hear baby babble. This also gave us mum’s an opportunity to take some time out of our hectic lifestyle and catch up. As it was over lunch I decided to make something light accompanied by a cake and this time I wanted to incorporate one of my favourite vegetables into a cake bake and that is beetroot. Now for quite some time I have been meaning to give this ago and this was the perfect opportunity.

Beetroot is a deliciously versatile vegetable that is packed with nutrients and has a gorgeous deep red/purple colour. It can be enjoyed raw, cooked, savoury or sweet. I have always loved eating beetroot and currently as it is in season I like to use it in my cooking quite often. Usually I’m a pickled beetroot person enjoying the wonderful flavours they are soaked in. During my second pregnancy it was sweet fire baby beetroot from Tesco’s finest range and till date I am hooked on them.  It’s the first time I have ever baked with beetroot and that even with chocolate but my trial was successful and was so delighted with the result. In this bake the addition of ginger gives a subtle but lovely taste complementing the earthy and sweet flavour of beetroot. The use of dark muscavado sugar adds richness to this cake and chocolate well I shall say no more. Serving this cake with cardamom cream completes this delicious dessert.

This time round rather than using my Chef mixer I have used a food processor so it is a quick and easy “Blitz” recipe.

Makes one 8″ round Cake

Ingredients:

150g Dark Muscavado Suar
170g Grated fresh beetroot
170g Butter-room temperature
100g Milk Chocolate roughly chopped.
120g Self Raising flour
30g Cocoa powder
3 large Eggs
2 Tbsp Oil
3 Tbsp Milk
2 Tbsp Ginger powder

Method:

1. Pre heat oven to 180 degree C or 160 for fan. Grease and prepare your cake tin
2. Blend the butter and sugar till incorporated, add chocolate and blend, add eggs and blend again. Add milk,oil,ginger powder and blend till all mixture has come together.
3. Add the beetroot and blend, finally add the flour and cocoa powder and blend till all the flour is incorporated into the mixture. Remember not to over mix.
4. Pour batter into the cake tin and bake in oven for 50 mins, check that inserted skewer come out clean.
5. Leave cake in tin for about 5 mins before transferring onto wire rack for cooling.

Cardamom cream:

200ml Cold Double Cream
3 Tbsp Icing sugar
1/2 Tsp Cardamom powder

In a jug whip all the ingredients till you achieve a thick spoon able texture.

Once the cake has cooled down, cut into triangle slices, add a dollop of cream and serve.

Leave a Reply

