Baking · Breads · Uncategorized

Coriander and Jalapeño Corn Bread

20130925-200106.jpg

Coriander and jalapeno cornbread by Chinskitchen

The first time I ever tasted corn bread was at my aunt’s house in Canada and this is going back a few years. I really liked the texture and taste of toasted corn bread smothered in butter, obviously as I started to look after my diet I reduced my bread consumption to a great extent. My bread machine which funny enough is still at my parents house hasn’t been touched for about 7 years There was a time when the smell of fresh bread was my alarm clock on a daily basis, it’s amazing how with time things change, now my alarm clock is my 5 month old and 6-year-old. Slowly but surely I am re acquainting with my bread making skills, although I am still very cautious about bread consumption, a bit of indulgence here or there is quite exciting. On the other hand I enjoy preparing fresh breads,rolls, loaves,muffins,scones for others to enjoy. I came across a simple US southern style corn bread recipe in one of my baking books and adapted the recipe to accommodate my ingredients. The jalapeño in this bread adds a chilli kick which isn’t overpowering but balances well with the coriander and crunchy corn. By serving it warm or toasted makes a great main meal or lunch accompaniment.

Coriander and jalapeño corn bread ( adapted from Step by step Baking)

Ingredients:

130g Coarse cornmeal
125g Plain flour
50g Melted and cooled butter
250ml Buttermilk
2 Eggs
2 Tsp baking powder
2 Jalapeños finely chopped- I used pickled jalapeño
2 Tbsp Olive oil
1 Tbsp Honey
1 Tsp Salt
3 Tbsp corn Kernels
1/2 cup fresh chopped coriander

Method:

1. Pre heat the oven to 200 degree C or 180 degree C for fan assisted. Grease an 8″ cake tin with butter and place in the oven to heat.
2.In a bowl add all the dry ingredients, in another bowl mix the egg and buttermilk.
3. Make a well in the dry mixture and pour all wet ingredients and stir.
4. Add 2 tablespoons of corn, jalapeño and coriander and stir.
5.Remove the tin from the oven and pour batter into the hot cake tin. Sprinkle the remaining corn on the batter. Return the tin to the oven and bake for 20 mins until bread rises and edges start browning.
6. Once cooked remove from oven and leave in tin for 5 mins before turning out on a wire rack to cool.

20130925-210425.jpg

Leave a Reply

