Biscuits and Cookies · Eggless · Food · Uncategorized

Chai Spice Butter Biscuits

20131002-220601.jpg
Chai spice butter biscuits by Chinskitchen

Another sweet but spicy delight for you, amongst my long list of recipes to make I have a section on cookies and biscuits. Chai spice was second in line to my previously baked M&M cookies. I was only glad to come across idmuchratherbakethan  hosted by Laura who runs a monthly biscuit barrel challenge. Every month she chooses a theme and this months theme fits in perfectly with me as its ” Bookmarked Recipes”. This means baking biscuits that you have been meaning to bake for quite some time but never quite got round to doing so. Following my interactions with Laura I snapped up the opportunity to bake these melt in the mouth, soft, crumbly butter biscuits. Butter biscuits have been my personal favourite and every year during Diwali I would bake spiced butter biscuits and gift them to family and friends. Home made or baked gifts always add that personal touch and usually accepted with great warmth. I absolutely love tea and am open to trying different varieties but my daily consumption of masala chai has to top all the others. The sweet and spicy scent of chai masala adds a slight kick to my cup of tea, I tend to make my own chai masala so in winter months the ratio of ginger to cardamom,cinnamon, clove, black pepper increases it surely wakes you up in the morning to kick start your day and if I have a bit of sniffles it opens up my senses. The soft butter biscuits with a subtle hint of chai spice is like match made in heaven, a bite of this will melt in your mouth leaving a sweet but slight spicy taste on your tongue. The basic butter biscuit recipe has been in the family for a long time and I usually adapt it with a variety of ingredients. I am entering these biscuits into this months biscuit barrel challenge.

barrel

Makes approx 30 biscuits

Ingredients:

220g Plain Flour
10g Corn Flour
130g Caster Sugar
155g Butter- cold and cut into pieces
2 Tsp Chai Spice
65ml Milk

Method:

1. Pre heat oven to 180 degree C or 160 for fan assisted.
2. In a food processor add the flour, sugar, butter and chai spice. Whizz it all together, slowly add the milk to this mixture until it forms a dough like mixture.
3. Turn out the mixture onto a work board and bind together to form a dough.
4. I used a large piping bag and nozzle to pipe the biscuits onto the baking tray, you can use a biscuit machine or simply make small balls and flatten with a fork. Place in fridge for 5 mins.

20131004-144823.jpg
5. Bake in the pre heated oven for 15 mins or until biscuits turn a golden colour.
6. Once baked leave on tray to cool slightly before transferring onto a wire rack to cool completely.

20131004-144833.jpg

In addition to the Biscuit Barrel challenge I am also entering these biscuits into the “Bookmarked Recipes” hosted by the lovely Jacqueline from Tinnedtomatoes

bookmarked

6 thoughts on “Chai Spice Butter Biscuits

  1. Your description of these had me literally thinking ‘Mmmmmmm’! I really like trying different flavoured teas and these might just be the push I needed to use them more in my baking. Thanks for sharing them with the Biscuit Barrel challenge =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

