Baking · Eggless · Food · Indian/Asian Cuisine · Snacks · Uncategorized

Gujarati Style Carrot and Courgette Muffins

Gujarati style Carrot and Courgette Muffins

In the past few weeks I have been utilising a lot of vegetables and fruit in baking sweet or savoury treats. This time it’s a savoury treat to tantalize your taste buds with use of spices found in two traditional gujarati delicacies.  My fridge was full of yummy courgettes and carrots as I am introducing different types of vegetables to my 6 month old as part of her weaning but, even I must admit there is only so many varieties I can make for her that can be pureed.  As I was strolling back home from my school run this morning I was thinking about dinner oh yes at 9.00am I have to plan my evening meal for the family, my household runs on a regimental routine to ensure everyone is happy. So my thoughts starting digressing into traditional gujarati snacks such as handvo and muthai and my senses kicked in, I could taste the flavours and smell the lovely aroma of these delights. Handvo is a an indian savoury cake made with a mixed lentil batter, choice of vegetables and spices. Muthia are the gujarati version of sausages I guess, they are made with gram flour, fenugreek and spices which are mixed together to form a dough type consistency using oil, these are then steamed. Once steamed they can be fried or pan fried to add a slight crisp texture. The common theme with both of these is they use lentil flours which my husband is severely allergic to so I adapted these flavours and textures into my own muffin variation using self raising flour and cornmeal and the end result was ravishing. The balanced use of spices with fresh chilli, ginger and coriander enhances the flavours of carrots and courgettes.

IMG_1921

Makes 12 Muffins

120g Grated Carrots
140g Grated Courgette
165g Coarse Cornmeal
125g Self Raising Flour
90g Low Fat Yoghurt
125ml Water
2 Tbsp White Vinegar
2 Tsp Soda Bicarbonate
140ml Olive Oil
1/2 Tsp Ajwain Seeds
1/2 Tsp Turmeric Powder
1 Tsp Cumin Seeds
1 Tsp Salt
2 Tbsp Chopped Coriander.
1 Green Chilli finely chopped
1Tbsp Minced Ginger
Grated cheese for sprinkle

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 180 degree C or 160 for fan assisted. Line muffin tin with paper cases.
2. In a bowl mix the flour,salt,spices,chilli,ginger, coriander,yoghurt and oil.
3. In a small cup mix the vinegar and soda bicarbonate together, pour into the bowl with mix, add water and mix into a batter. Add the carrots and courgette and mix until all is combined.
4. Spoon the batter into the muffin cases 3/4 full, sprinkle cheese on top and bake in the oven for 15 mins. After 15 mins turn the temperature down to 170 or 150 for fan and bake for a further 5 mins.
5. To check muffins are cooked insert a skewer, if it comes out clean it is cooked.
6. Remove the muffins and place them on a wire rack to cool.

IMG_1916

IMG_1917

IMG_1918

Zucchini and carrot muffin

2 thoughts on “Gujarati Style Carrot and Courgette Muffins

    1. Thanks Namrata, I haven’t tried using besan as I don’t cook with it at home but I’m sure you can substitute it. If you try it please let me know. Also the spices you can add more or less according to your taste

      Like

Leave a Reply

