Desserts · Eggless · Food · Uncategorized

Nutmeg Spiced Rich Chocolate Cheesecake

Choccheesecake
Nutmeg Spiced Rich Chocolate Cheesecake by Chinskitchen

Last week, as well as it being National Baking Week, it was also chocolate week. For me it’s like Bakers Heaven and my kitchen turns into my paradise of relaxation, the gorgeous and lingering scent of melted chocolate throws me back to my teenage years when everything around me contained or resembled chocolate. I had chocolate toiletries, chocolate scented teddy, candles, lip balms, bath pillow and not to forget my daily chocolate fix. As I got older I started being more health conscious and realised my daily consumption of 2-3 bars of chocolate wasn’t healthy. I remember I was introduced to good quality dark chocolate and with first bite I thought “yuck” it was bitter and rich and thought to myself that’s not proper chocolate ( obviously as I had only ever consumed milk or white chocolate), slowly I started eating tiny amounts of that large bar I was given and my quest for “proper chocolate” started. I researched and visited chocolate exhibitions where I learnt a lot about the whole chocolate production and process and a few years on you cannot desperate me from a good quality dark chocolate bar, I’ve even tried 95% oh yes it’s bitter but you can taste the true chocolate without vast amounts of sugar masking the flavour. The addition of dark chocolate in my baking and dessert dishes truly enhances the flavours. This recipe was inspired by chef James Tanner who demonstrated his version of double chocolate cheesecake on the Lorraine Show. I loved how versatile it was and easy to make. Unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients he used plus on air they only show the method no mention of quantities of ingredients. After having fed my 6 month old I put her down for her morning nap and of I went to rummage through my cupboards and fridge. Cheesecake is a very classic dessert dish and the varieties on offer are endless. This is a quick and simple yet decadent and delicious recipe combining dark chocolate, Philadelphia Light, double cream, digestives, butter, sugar and lovely warm nutmeg spice. This cheesecake is extremely rich leaving  a rich velvet, bittersweet taste on your palette as it contains very less sugar. To tone down the bittersweet flavour you can add a bit more sugar, use 50% dark chocolate or  serve it with some creamy vanilla ice cream. I am entering this to the Alphabakes Challenge hosted by Ros from The more than occasional baker and Caroline from Caroline Makes this month is the letter ” C” hosted by the lovely Ros. IMG_2006

Nutmeg Spiced Rich Chocolate Cheesecake

Serves 6-8
Preparation time: 35 minutes
Chilling Time: 3-4 hours

Ingredients:
150g Digestive biscuits
185g Philadelphia light cream cheese
50g Melted butter
50g Caster sugar
150g Double cream partly whipped
150g Green and Blacks Dark chocolate 85%
1/2 Tsp Ground nutmeg

Method:
1. Prepare either a 6 inch spring form or loose bottom tin by greasing the bottom with butter and lining the sides with parchment paper.
2. In a Bain mare melt the dark chocolate, remember not to allow any water to touch the base of the glass bowl. Once melted remove from heat and let it cool.
3. Pulse the digestive biscuits and nutmeg to fine crumbs, it should resemble sand.
4. Transfer the biscuits in a bowl, add melted butter and mix well.
5. Press down the biscuit base into your prepared tin using the back of a spoon or you can use a small bowl.
6. In a bowl mix the cream cheese and sugar until combined, pour the melted chocolate, whisk it, add the partly whipped double cream and whisk until well combined. You should notice a change in colour.
7. Spoon this mixture onto the biscuit base, tap the tin on the work top 3-4 times and spread the mixture with the back of a spoon.
8. Set the cheesecake in the fridge for 3-4 hours.
9. When you are ready to serve, remove the cheesecake from the fridge, remove it from the tin, peel back the paper and transfer onto a serving dish. To slice, run a sharp knife under hot water for a few seconds, wipe the knife and then cut into the cheesecake , this will ensure you get a clean cut for each wedge.

IMG_2007IMG_2009IMG_2010IMG_2011IMG_2012IMG_2013IMG_2014IMG_2015

10 thoughts on “Nutmeg Spiced Rich Chocolate Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

