Condiments · Uncategorized

Red Hot Sweet Chilli and Coriander Jam

chilli jam
Red Hot Sweet Chilli and Coriander Jam by Chinskitchen

Firstly let me point out that this isn’t they type of jam you would slather on toast and eat however, if you are one who can stand that amount of heat then for sure give it a go but please be cautioned. A couple of years ago I made my first jar of chilli jam using Nigella’s recipe since then I have developed my recipe using ideas and ingredients from a variety of chilli jam recipes. Whenever I make a jar of this,family and friends get a small jar of it however, my Brother-in Law always gets a large jar filled to the top. Watching him consume extremely hot food makes me sweat, honestly speaking he could probably eat spoonfuls of this jam at a time. On the other hand, my husband’s work colleagues absolutely devour this with varieties of cheese and crackers accompanied with a bottle of red wine. A selection of sweet and spicy jam’s make a great little home-made gift for any occasion by adding that personal touch. Previously I have served chilli jam on french bread with a mushroom mix and melted cheese, this went down really well as starters and snacks. This recipe has my personal touch which combines the fragrant herb Coriander with roasted cumin seeds, this adds a lovely touch of flavour to this red hot but sweet chilli jam. Why not join my quest for making home-made gifts and consider this jam as an ingredient for your hamper.

IMG_2059

Red Hot Sweet Chilli and Coriander Jam

Makes- approx two medium size jars
Preparation time:20-30 minutes
Cooking time:30-40 minutes

Ingredients:
800g Granulated sugar
400g Tinned cherry tomatoes
250g Red or orange bell peppers- weight after seeds and stalk removed
50g Chopped fresh coriander
40g Fresh ginger peeled
90ml Cider Vinegar
16 Red(medium/hot) chillies -wear gloves if chillies are hot or wash hands thoroughly
4 Garlic Cloves
1 tsp Salt

IMG_2086

Method:

1. Prepare jam jars by washing them and warming them in the oven.
2. In a blender whizz together garlic, ginger, chillies, peppers and coriander until finely chopped.
3. In a deep pot, add the blend mix, tomatoes, sugar and vinegar and cook on medium heat for sugar to dissolve. 4. Let the mix come to a boil, at this stage scoop up scum that comes to the surface and stir.
5. Once it reaches a boil stage turn the heat to low and let it cook for 20-30 mins until it thickens, please be careful as the jam will bubble and spit. Stir occasionally to prevent jam sticking to the pot.
6. Do a test to check if jam is ready by pouring a small amount of jam on a plate, as it cools push back on the jam and if it wrinkles it is ready.
7. Let the jam cool for a few minutes. Using a ladle, decant the jam into the prepared jam pots and screw on the lids.

IMG_2061IMG_2060IMG_2062IMG_2067

6 thoughts on “Red Hot Sweet Chilli and Coriander Jam

    1. Thank you so much,honestly I can make jars of this jam and who ever comes to my house and tastes it goes home with some. The coriander adds that extra flavour as it is such a fragrant herb and chilli well we all love the taste don’t we? Please give it a go x

      Like

  1. Yum… I would go Indian with this jam/chutney. Mix it with hot rice, ghee and some rasam. 🙂 First I have to get my hands on some of those beautiful red chilies. Very nice recipe Chintal. Am saving it.

    Like

    1. Thanks Namrata, it is such a versatile recipe I mixed it with some noodles I made for dinner and it really was flavoursome. Any hot red chillies will work. Your rice sounds yummy I you do make it let me know how you get on x

      Like

    1. Thank you, since I have made it family and friends have tried it with meals, crackers, as a sandwich spread etc and they love it. Yes you can omit the peppers I have made one before without the peppers and it tasted lovely as well

      Like

Leave a Reply

