Food · Soups · Uncategorized

Spicy and Sweet: Roasted Pepper and Sweet Potato Soup

s.potato soup
Roasted Pepper and Sweet Potato Soup by Chinskitchen

This week I am on a mission to use up all the food I have available in my fridge before my next big shop. Over the past few weeks I found myself throwing away some fruit and vegetables that I could have easily made a meal out of and it really upsets me especially as the cost of food prices have risen ridiculously. In my potato bag I found some lovely orange flesh sweet potatoes which I purchased on offer and made several meals out of this and in the fridge some bell peppers that needed using up. As usual hundred and one ideas came to the fore front of my mind however, to turn this into a meal I was lacking certain ingredients but the thought of soup crossed my mind and I had everything I needed to make it. Although I could just make a standard sweet potato soup with some stock I decided to jazz it up and add a bit of kick to it. I find that by roasting the vegetables before adding stock and blending really enhances the sweetness of potatoes peppers and garlic. As this soup is made from scratch I am entering it in Made with love Mondays hosted by Javelin Warrior. I am also entering it in Credit Crunch Munch hosted by Helen at Fuss Free Helen and Camilla from Fab Food 4 All as it’s a filling meal made with ingredients that aren’t very expensive, plus can be made in batch to last for lunch or dinner the next day. s.potato soup 2

Roasted Pepper and Sweet Potato Soup:
Serves 3-4
Slimming World Syns: About 1 per serving
Preparation time:
Cooking time:

Ingredients:

3 Medium sized Orange flesh sweet potatoes peeled and cut into chunks
5 Garlic cloves sliced
1 Red chilli sliced into rings
2 Medium size bell peppers de-seeded and sliced into strips
2 Tsp Olive oil
2 Tbsp Cumin seeds
1 Tsp Organic vegetable stock
Salt to taste
500 ml Hot water
Fresh Coriander to garnish

Method:

1. Heat the oven to 200 degree C or 180 for fan. In a roasting tray, mix the potato chunks, cumin seeds, oil, salt, garlic and chilli.
2. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes, stirring them once half way through. After 20 minutes, add the peppers and return to the oven for another 10 minutes.
3. Once the vegetable mix is cooked, transfer into a pot, add hot water and stock and cook on medium heat for 10 minutes.
4. Turn off the heat and let the soup mix cool for a few minutes before blending it using a hand blender. Blending at this stage will help to release and enhance the flavours of roasted sweet potatoes, spicy chilli, glorious cumin and sweet garlic.
5. Serve soup in bowls and garnish with fresh chopped coriander.

Tips:
1. If you find the soup a bit too thick you can add extra water until it reaches desired consistency
2. To the vegetable mix you can mix different herbs and spices to suit your taste. Enjoy this scrumptious soup with some hot crusty bread.

JWsMadeWLuvMondays

Credit Crunch Munch Roasted Pepper and Sweet Potato Soup

4 thoughts on “Spicy and Sweet: Roasted Pepper and Sweet Potato Soup

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a sweet potato soup before (although I’ve used regular potatoes many times). I love the idea and I imagine the roasted peppers are just delicious with the potatoes…

    Like

  2. I always wonder what to do with sweet potatoes(apart from the usual), this recipe is a keeper! I like the idea of roasting before grinding into a soup… i make pumpkin soup like that.. it sure tastes good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

