Baking · Cakes · Uncategorized

Kesar milk masala and coffee cake

Kesar1

Do you remember the first time you tried coffee? What did you think of it, was it strong, bitter but full of aroma? Maybe it was just a sip you had and you knew whether you like it or loathe it am I right? Well, I must have been probably around 8 or 9 when I first experienced the taste of coffee and to my surprise I loved it but there was a reason behind that. First of all as kids we weren’t allowed to consume any caffeinated drinks whether it was tea, coffee or coke, our morning breakfast started with bowl of hot milk made with malt and 8 Almonds followed by toast or Indian flat breads. However,  different foods and drinks always intrigued me,seriously from  sweets to fruits, savouries and drinks whether it was from a foreign country or native. Once I  pestered my mum to let me have a sip of tea when my dad wasn’t around (yes she finally did let me have a sip, think the constant pestering must have got to her) i’m sure you have guessed what I asked for next? Yes you’re right it was coffee, the aroma of fresh Kenyan coffee beans roasted and ground was breath taking and my mind constantly wondering if coffee tasted like it’s aroma. One day my grandmother had a few of her friends over and mum was preparing a “Milky Coffee” for them all, in went a few spices and chopped pistachios and almonds, so hey presto I pounced on the opportunity to taste, Mum let me have one teaspoon and wow that one teaspoon of milky masala coffee was enough to make me want more.  Of course, no more milky coffee was allowed till we were a bit older ;). Fortunately as years went by, taste buds developed even further and I was lucky enough to try proper Kenyan black coffee….it was mild but intense with bold flavour and  hint of cocoa ….it was my first proper experience and must say a pleasant one. So you ask what was the inspiration behind this blend of cake? As you can see my mums “milky masala coffee” but the other reason was a wonderful, deep in scent and flavour Kesar Milk Masala drops from HolyLamaSpiceDrops. Yes you heard it right, Holy Lama spice drops are all pure and natural extracts of spices which can be used in your day to day food and drink. Why not have a look at the variety they have to offer and read all about their natural spice extracts. Kesar is Saffron, a costly but pungent spice that really adds flavour to this delicious cake.

Keasr3 Kesar Milk Masala and Coffee Cake

Serves:4-6
Preparation time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 40-55 minutes

Ingredients:
180g Flora margarine
180g Caster sugar 3 large eggs at room temperature
3 Tbsp whole milk
3 Tbsp strong coffee (prepared, I used espresso)- you can use instant and make it strong or weak according to your taste
4 Drops Holy Lama Kesar Milk Masala
270g Self raising flour
1 Tsp baking powder

Icing:
125g Butter
250g Icing sugar
2 Tbsp milk
4-5 drops kesar milk masala drops

Method:

1. Grease and line a 6inch cake tin. Pre heat the oven to 180 degree C or 160 degree for fan assisted.
2. Cream margarine and sugar until light and fluffy, add eggs one at a time beating after each addition.Stir in the milk, coffee and extract.
3. Fold in the flour and baking powder. The batter should be smooth.
4. Pour batter into the prepared cake tin.
5. Bake in the middle of the oven for 40-55 minutes, inserted skewer should come out clean.
6. Once cooked, leave in the tin for 5 minutes before transferring it onto a wire rack to cool down.
7. To make the icing, beat the butter to make it slightly creamy, but do not over beat, Add in the icing sugar and milk, beat until light and fluffy. 8. Add in the drops and mix until all incorporated.
9. Once the cake is cool, spread the icing and finish off with a dusting of cocoa powder.

Enjoy a thick wedge of this delicious cake with tea, coffee or milk 🙂

Kesar2

11 thoughts on “Kesar milk masala and coffee cake

  1. What a great story!! As a kid growing up in Singapore, I wasn’t allowed any caffeine either! My first experience of coffee was when I was 16! I’ve never looked back since. Your cake looks lovely! Although I think my husband is allergic to Kesar Milk Masala as we had it in our tea once and he started sneezing non stop! I think it was kesar milk masala, looks exactly like what’s in the mug in your photo.:)

    Like

    1. Thank you and how lovely that there are others out there who can also relate to my story. Is your husband allergic to the spice or nuts? Spice mix is saffron, nutmeg and cardamom. I’ve added pistachios and almonds in the milk x

      Like

  2. I don’t remember how old I was when I tried coffee but I know that I hated it and still do….except when it is a flavouring in cake or chocolate, then I love it. This cake looks like a beautiful example of coffee cake. I particularly love how simple it is but still sounds so full of flavour =)

    Like

    1. Hi Laura, thank you so much for sharing your experience, coffee does have a strong, bitter but bold flavours. Thank you for your lovely comment I hope you’ll be trying it xx

      Like

  3. Wow this sounds and looks delicious. My grandad used to make us sweet milky coffee too. I love the sound of spicy milky coffee! I’ve never heard of holy lama spice drops either, where abouts do you get them? I’ll keep an eye out for them! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Lauren, ah yes milky coffee in itself is yummy. Holy lama spice drops are online as well as wait rose. They have a better variety online click on their ink on my post. Hope you get to try it xx

      Like

  4. Wow this sounds delicious! My grandad used to make us sweet milky coffee too. I love the sound of your spicy pistachio coffee. I’ve never heard of the holy lama milky masala before. Is it easy to find? Will keep an eye out for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

